Navigation Menu
218-525-7278
					WP_Post Object
(
    [ID] => 25
    [post_author] => 1
    [post_date] => 2018-03-13 14:22:56
    [post_date_gmt] => 2018-03-13 19:22:56
    [post_content] => 
    [post_title] => Testimonials
    [post_excerpt] => 
    [post_status] => publish
    [comment_status] => closed
    [ping_status] => closed
    [post_password] => 
    [post_name] => masonry-client-reviews
    [to_ping] => 
    [pinged] => 
    [post_modified] => 2020-09-23 10:14:27
    [post_modified_gmt] => 2020-09-23 15:14:27
    [post_content_filtered] => 
    [post_parent] => 0
    [guid] => http://johnstonmasonry.com/?page_id=25
    [menu_order] => 0
    [post_type] => page
    [post_mime_type] => 
    [comment_count] => 0
    [filter] => raw
)
				
Helping People. Lasting Results.

Testimonials.

Trust.

True client feedback builds trust.

Written Testimonials

Here are a few written testimonials we thought we could share. As you could imagine, we don’t receive too many (hand) written testimonials any more, we do on occasion!

 

“We were very pleased with the work Johnston Masonry performed. We had two chimneys re-tuck-pointed and were satisfied with the results.”

A. and M. Greminger

“I had Johnston Masonry do foundation repairs, tuck pointing, and repair of broken bricks. They were very professional in their work and answered my questions about things that had to be done. Upon finishing, they cleaned up the worksite. I recommend them for your masonry projects.”

J. Lind

“We recently had some work done at our home by your company. We wanted to thank you for the respectful and professional way in which we were treated. The men who did the job (Joel, Pat, and Brennan) were always willing to answer our questions and tell us exactly what they were doing. Their kindness put our minds at ease. Thank you again for the great work.”

A. Halland & M. Bernier

“We were extremely pleased with Johnston Masonry from the very beginning. Your company took the time to take a complete assessment of the work needed to be done to repair on aging chimney and in doing so; the bid accurately reflected our total costs without any surprises. The men who completed the work were polite, neat and hard working. They took the time to let me know the work they would be tackling that day. And to my pleasant surprise, even went out of their way to paint some spot repairs while their scaffolding was up. I highly recommend your company, Johnston Masonry, for chimney repairs.”

M. Ryan

“I selected Johnston Masonry to repair my retaining walls after being severely damaged during the June 20, 2012 storm in Duluth. I received a competitive estimate to do the work. The work was completed in a timely manner and under cost estimates. I was impressed with the efficient and professional manner in which the repairs were planned and implemented. It was obvious that the crew that did the work knew what they were doing. I highly recommend Johnston Masonry Inc. as a company you can trust to do excellent work.”

Tom Tonkin

“I contacted your company on 06/21/2012 following a flood in Duluth, MN on 06/20/2012. Despite all the work which would become available to you due to the entire city affected by the unusual storm system, you responded quickly to my desperate message. I am selling my house, and inspections were due within the week. By July 2nd, you had completed all work, as promised. The flood was unlucky, but choosing your company was good luck. Thank you.”

Joan Burns

“I am extremely happy with the entire process. Having such pleasant, hardworking guys sure contributed to my appreciation of the final project. They made it enjoyable.”

A.F.

“We are more than pleased with the work done on the wall in front of the house and the repair work your guys did on the drive and retaining wall. You workers are pleasant; work extremely hard, knowledgeable about their work, and very courteous. We couldn’t be more satisfied about the job done.”

Bob and Kathy Carlson

“Your crew did a terrific job- they are highly skilled at their trade and take pride in their work…as they should. They were personable and respected my time and property. I am totally pleased with the results. Well done!”

L.P.

“Last Spring I talked with several custom stone contractors but I was most impressed with Johnston Masonry.  They offered a few improvements to my “outdoor kitchen” design and were very patient and knowledgeable. They delivered on everything they promised and finished my project on schedule.  I have gotten a lot of great comments on their work and I am really proud of the new “improvement” on my deck. I am looking forward to enjoying it for many, many years with my friends.”

Lynn Wegner

***** (five stars) – Loved it!  “Hire them! The team at Johnston Masonry is just awesome.  They worked with us to re-engineer what turned out to be a major structural issue in our walk-out basement.  The masons were hard-working and skilled, as well as considerate and friendly. The management was excellent, communicating fully and problem-solving with us along the way.  We also hired them to do stonework repair on our fireplace mantle, which required special matching of stone. We are so pleased with and grateful for their work.”

The Zaks

Coming soon!

 

 

 

Jennifer McCleary
Jennifer McCleary
2020-09-08

Verified review
I am updating my review due to a personal phone call from Ken Johnston. He apologized for the cancellation of my estimate appointment and for the impact of their policy about having all decision makers present. We had a really good conversation in which he listened to my experience and feedback and asked for suggestions to ensure that this doesn’t happen to other families. I reiterated that while I fully support having a policy that ensures all decision makers are included, in my case, it appeared that they were unable to work with me because my husband couldn’t be present during the estimate and that I would be solely responsible for decision making. I really believe that the intent was not to be harmful, but he took responsibility for the impact and indicated actions he would take to make change. I am incredibly appreciative of this response. It shows professionalism and attention to customer service. I retract my previous poor rating.

I recently called Johnston Masonry for an estimate to have brick front steps and sidewalk put in. They refused to do an estimate with me without my partner present, despite the fact that my partner lives in another city, I am the primary decision maker on our home, and I own the home myself. They wanted to FaceTime my husband into the bid, instead. Their reasoning is that they want both “decision makers” present so they don’t have to do a second bid (I’m assuming when one person disagrees with the other?). Instead of trusting me that I am actually capable of making a decision by myself, I had to have several text conversations and a phone call all to convince them that I am, indeed, able to make decisions about my own home, despite being a married woman. Once they learned I was soliciting multiple bids so that I could compare quality, customer service, and time frame, they indicated that if I was making a decision based on cost, then they might be too expensive for me. I can, in fact, afford home projects, but I include things like customer service and time frame in my choices about companies I work with. I believe a company can have policies like preferring to have both decision makers present for a bid. However, the minute I indicate that I am the primary decision maker and do not need to have my husband present to make my own decisions on my own house, they should have trusted me and moved forward. Instead, I had to present my case to multiple people, be questioned about my finances, and treated as though I am not capable to make decisions on my own. While they never said this is because I am a woman and would probably deny sexism, the implications and impact are clear. I felt mistreated because I happen to be a woman who owns my own home and can afford expensive home projects and my husband trusts me to make decisions on my own. The time spent discussing this could have been used to give me a bid for the project. I will not be working with Johnston Masonry because of their customer service treatment of me, not because I cannot afford their work. I understand that Johnston Masonry is a sought after business and they may be able to afford to lose a customer, but they have also lost the business of the multiple people I will be telling about this experience.

Rodger C
Rodger C
2020-06-28

Verified review
I hired Johnston Masonry for two projects. The first was to apply natural stone veneer on the exterior basement walls of my walkout basement. And the second was the installation of a stone stairway.

Both projects were done in a timely fashion and on budget. The crew knew their craft, were friendly, and cleaned up afterward. I’m very satisfied with their work and would hire them again.

All stone was sourced from Great Lakes Stone Supply.

The veneer on the basement is Full Blend Cobblestone thin veneer. A ledge was placed on top of this stone to accommodate a unique feature of the home. The stone on this ledge is Black Mist Mosaic.

The steps are New York Bluestone and the small landing is New York Bluestone flagstone.

The steppers leading to the stairs are New York Bluestone flagstone also and were installed by the homeowner.

Julie B
Julie B
2019-11-13

Verified review
We highly recommend Johnston Masonry. The quality of their work is excellent and communication with the crew was easy, thorough, and timely. This company is organized, takes pride in their work, and strives for customer satisfaction. The crew checked in regularly with us to go over their progress and address any issues or concerns. They are very kind, knowledgeable, and hard workers. They approached our stucco repairs with confidence, executed with success and left us as homeowners very satisfied. It is difficult to find a qualified stucco contractor in this area. We are very appreciative to all members of Johnston Masonry and look forward to working with them again on future projects. They are true professionals in their trade.
Tom & Julie Benson

Daryl Kallevig
Daryl Kallevig
2019-11-03

Verified review
Johnston Masonry built a tiered retaining wall for me this fall (2019) exceeding my expectations. The crew that worked on my wall were all eager to please and asked me questions related to how I wanted things done during the construction phase. The weather was not very accommodating so it did take a little longer than originally planned but was completed in a relatively short time.

Numerous neighbors have stopped by and commented on the retaining walls and how nice they look and how they improved my curb appeal.

Overall they did an excellent job and I strongly recommend their services.

TODD DOYLE
TODD DOYLE
2019-10-22

Verified review
Excellent communication before, during and after the work was done. Very professional origination . Did a outstanding job on my retaining wall. Highly recommend!

 

 

Our Clients Say.

“We were very pleased with the work Johnston Masonry performed. We had two chimneys re-tuck-pointed and were satisfied with the results.”

A. and M. Greminger